The Most Misunderstood Rules in Golf
In golf, we love to boast about how we govern ourselves. But what happens when no one in your group knows the rules? Unveiling the rules that trip golfers up most. For some people, it’s the one thing that stops them from getting involved in day out on the green, organising a corporate golf day or even taking the kids out – never mind actually being able to swing a club.
Here is a snippet thanks to Golf Digest;
MYTH: A golfer who is off the green must play a shot before a golfer who is on the green.
FACT: The player farthest from the hole, regardless of position, is always entitled to play first. So if a golfer has 50-foot putt while another golfer is facing a 5-yard chip, the golfer on the green is entitled to play first. Note, there is no penalty for playing out of order. However, in match play, you can be made to replay your shot by your opponent if you don’t wait your turn.
MYTH: A ball that is touched and falls off the tee after it has been addressed counts as a stroke.
FACT: In most cases, it doesn’t count as a stroke and the ball should be re-teed without penalty. It counts as a stroke if the ball already was in play (if you whiffed on your first attempt, for example), or if you were making a stroke at the time the ball fell off the tee.
MYTH: In a scramble or other team format, you can stand on or close to an extension of your partner’s line of putt while he makes a stroke.
FACT: No one on your side, including caddies, can intentionally stand on or close to an extension of the line of putt during a stroke. Intentionally is the key word. If someone on your side was standing there inadvertently, there would be no penalty.
For more, head to their site and brush up on your knowledge….